• Mountfield SP425R Self Propelled Rear Roller Lawnmower

Mountfield SP425R Self-Propelled Petrol Rear-Roller Lawnmower (Limited Uk Stock)

Mountfield SP425R Self-Propelled Petrol Rear-Roller Lawnmower (Limited Uk Stock)

Features
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Assembly
Performance
9 Review(s)

R.R.P: £479.00  

Save £30.00

£449.00
  • Free Delivery 1 - 3 Working Days
  • Exclusive Limited UK Stock
  • 5 Year Manufacturer's Warranty
FREE SHIPPING
Delivery is FREE* if you spend over £50.00!

Orders below £50.00 are charged at £5.95.

Our full shipping policy is here

* Some geographical exclusions apply
Overall score : 4.4 /5 (9 Reviews)

Showing of 9

Great to have it in the first lockdown Hello,
I have used MowDirect before and they were good, well my gardner
could not come because of the lockdown so I had to buy a mower and
quick, I hunted on line for a few hours and most company's were closed
and the ones that were open had little stock or delivery the end of April
but no garrantee.
Then in came an e mail, MowDirect were open for business on line,
so I purchased one, the only thing I couldent get was a 20in wide cut,
so 17in had to do.
The item was with the delivery company and they damaged it, so after
a lot of hard work by one of MowDirect female staff I had another as they had stock, in a few days, Grear Service.
This is a very good company with a good website and they are helpful.
I will use them again, but let hope next time it won't be at a time of a
LOCKDOWN.
David
Tunbridge Wells
stock

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by David Saunders / (Posted on 17/04/2020)
Not The Best Value Owned just over a year now and the pull cord has frayed, 2 fulcrum plates have snapped, spring has worn on the pull cord. The belt wears easily. Overall it will do the job but there are better mowers out there for the money. I wouldn't but again.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Richard / (Posted on 08/05/2018)
Excellent Mower I am very happy with the Mountfield SP425R Self Propelled Rear Roller mower. The set up was a little confusing but easy once you work out how it goes together. I measured out the oil in a measuring jug so as not to overfill and the whole process took 20 mins. The fantastic Honda engine started on first pull.

This mower offers great value. It is a good design and a solid build. My last mower was a highly recommended Hayter Harrier which I got rid of for the Mountfield as the deck and roller brackets were made of aluminium. The brackets kept shearing off as clearly not strong enough for a heavy mower. The Mountfield has a steel deck and roller brackets so hopefully this will not happen again but with a 5 year warranty I feel well protected. This is surely a good indication of the manufacturer's confidence in the build quality but don't forget to service the mower annually or the warranty will become invalid.

The cut is excellent and both my neighbours have commented on how good the lawn looks now. The speed is a little slow for me but not a problem. A slower speed means it picks up cut grass more efficiently and it leaves nothing behind.

The mower is a very good design but my only comment would be that the blade height adjust lever is rather exposed and if knocked when mowing under hedges it can change the blade height. The grass box full indicator doesn't work very well but I don't think that is a major problem.

All in all a very good mower at a very good price.

Finally, this is the second mower I have purchased from MowDirect. Their service is excellent and they look after their customers very well. Without me prompting them, the got me a refund of over £100 from Hayter to cover the cost of my third roller brackets repair. They are friendly, helpful, offer good advice and are generally very caring. You cannot fault them as a retailer.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by R M Baylis / (Posted on 12/09/2017)
Solid but Slow Assembly instructions were woeful. Had to work more by common sense. On the plus side the mower is solid and well built and the cut is good. On the negatives the speed however is pretty slow which would put me off buying it again.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Lewis / (Posted on 06/04/2017)
Good Machine - Excellent Service from MowDirect I bought a push petrol powered Mountfield from MowDirect to replace a broken electric mower. After using it for 30 minutes I decided it was too heavy, and wished I had bought a self-propelled version.

MowDirect could not have been more helpful and arranged for it to be collected. Unfortunately the couriers lost it for a week or so, but it eventually turned up at MowDirect. They only charged £50 for both the collection and depreciation.

My replacement - the SP425R was easy to put together, the Honda engine looks really top notch, is pretty quiet and so easy to pull start. The self-propulsion mechanism is slightly too quick for difficult shaped edges, but the mower is easy to man-handle when required. All in all I'm very happy with the mower and extremely happy with MowDirect.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Gavin / (Posted on 26/10/2016)
Excellent Mower from Attentive Retailer I am delighted with this Mountfield with its Honda engine which starts on one pull - did so from the box after assembly - which I found easy. MowDirect were excellent in their service and I cannot recommend them highly enough. Delivery was a day late due to the couriers but not a problem. Happy customer

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by John Kidd / (Posted on 18/08/2016)
New Petrol Mower. Having recently moved to a house with a much bigger lawn, I decided to upgrade from my Flymo to a self propelled mower. I initially sought some guidance from friends and family to narrow down what should be important to me when considering my purchase.

The MowDirect web site is a great source of knowledge and full of useful guidance notes. I decided to plump for this mower because of the reviews, brand, engine manufacturer and features. The quality is excellent, the assembly was a little confusing but me wife managed to interpret correctly..... In terms of use, very good to use, a little heavy and powerful at first, but I think this is mostly a case of getting use to it.

All in all I would recommend this machine and MowDirect for price, service and all round good advice for the purchase.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Daniel / (Posted on 18/04/2016)
Great Cut, Really Quiet Mower Lawnmower arrived needing some assembly. This was fine, but mostly because I could figure it out myself, as the instructions supplied seems to be generic for use with several mowers. The diagrams and parts didn't really look anything like how they actually were on my mower. However, once it was together it started first time.

Really quiet engine, which is barely any louder than an electric one would be. The roller at the back works well, and gives the mower great purchase on uneven or sloping areas. Cut was great, grass box works well, and the height adjustment is very quick. All in, this is a great bit of kit, I'm really pleased with it.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Neil B / (Posted on 12/04/2016)
Good machine, once I was supplied with one that worked properly Good features: e.g.back roller, auto-choke and an effective, one-lever height adjuster.

Unfortunately, the first one supplied to me (direct from the distributors) was faulty and had to be replaced at great inconvenience and loss of time.

The manual and instructions supplied with the machine were remarkably unhelpful.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by B D Stead / (Posted on 16/06/2014)

9 Item(s)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Mountfield SP425R Self-Propelled Petrol Rear-Roller Lawnmower (Limited Uk Stock)

  •   1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    Features
    Build Quality
    Ease of Use
    Assembly
    Performance

* Required Fields

Free Delivery to the UK Mainland

Recently Viewed
Compare Products

Recently Viewed Products