• Mountfield 1538M Lawn Tractor Main View

Mountfield 1538M SD Lawn Tractor (Special Offer)

Mountfield 1538M SD Lawn Tractor (Special Offer)

Features
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Assembly
Performance
30 Review(s)

R.R.P: £1,699.00  

Save £250.00

£1,449.00
Out of stock
  • Delivery 3 - 5 Working Days
  • Arrives Fully Assembled, Ready to Use
  • 5 Year Manufacturer's Warranty
FREE SHIPPING
Delivery is FREE* if you spend over £50.00!

Orders below £50.00 are charged at £5.95.

Our full shipping policy is here

* Some geographical exclusions apply
Overall score : 4.8 /5 (10 Reviews)

Showing of 10

Great purchase at a very fair cost Very pleased with my new tractor. Arrived promptly and once unwrapped and fuelled was ready to go. This replaces my previous Mountfield tractor purchased in 2003, and is quicker and easier to utilise. Well worth the price and recommended if you typically have 3 or more acres to maintain.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Adrian Stewart / (Posted on 31/05/2020)
Good Mower Cuts well and leaves the lawns looking amazing. Not designed to go through the rougher parts of the garden - thorns and nettles - but manages nonetheless with some brambles and higher grass on the lower gears. Really good mower and useful for dragging a trailer around to pick up garden waste. Economical. Easy to drive and manoeuvre for older members of the family, as well as teenage kids (on a low gear).

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Features

Review by Dom Wightman / (Posted on 29/05/2020)
Good cost effective machine This mountfield performs very well, does everything I need on a fairly bumpy sloping paddock, should have bought one years ago.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Peter Hodgson / (Posted on 08/04/2020)
Mower Absolutely delighted with it.

Couldn't write earlier as couldn't use it because of so much rain. As you can imagine the grass was rather long by then and thought i might have to strim it first, but I have a friend who uses them all the time, and it cut it with no bother and he said it was a great lawn tractor

Must also thank MowDirect for such a quick delivery .

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Norma Macdonald / (Posted on 29/08/2019)
Great Mower Great value and service. The delivery guy was brilliant.

Mower is excellent and cuts through even long damp grass easily. It's even cutting the oats that some muppet planted in our field instead of grass.


Recommended!

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Happy Mower Man / (Posted on 07/08/2019)
Excellent Value and Performance The mower arrived on the day promised, although with no time slot advised, apart from 10 mins notice from the delivery driver. Once offloaded from the van the mower was difficult to remove from the wooden pallet, which I had to saw parts off to release the mower.

It came fully assembled as promised and is easy to operate as per the detailed instructions. The mulcher is really effective, as I previously used a collector, and saves a lot of time and compost space.

Overall a good service from the supplier, at a competitive price, and great performance so far.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Colin / (Posted on 23/05/2019)
A Good Little Mower A good mower that cuts the grass well. It has a good turning circle so it's quite easy to get into most of the nooks, crannies and corners. the buying process was painless and the tractor arrived within a few days of ordering. 4 stars for build quality - just because so many of the parts are plastic (bonnet, rear wings etc), not for the build quality itself.

My only criticism is that the clutch and brake are on the same pedal (1st part of movement is clutch, last is the brake). This makes it quite difficult to operate the clutch without slamming on the brakes !!! This makes it quite hard to approach an obstacle head-on and feel confident about getting close but not too close.

I also find the reverse override something of a nuisance, but as this is a safety feature I suppose it's just a matter of getting used to it.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Brian / (Posted on 04/07/2017)
Does the Job Delivery quick and was very helpful as our house is not the easiest to deliver to. The mower appears solid with lots of safety features, albeit it takes a little while to get your head around what you can do with the grass cutting feature on.

Cut is good and drives well. Would recommend.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Simon / (Posted on 05/06/2017)
Well-built Mower that Gives a Good, Wide Cut After a couple of uses only, this seems a very good machine. It replaces my 20-year old MF 10-10, so, it has taken a little getting useD to, particularly the additional safety features. So, I've stalled several times when going into reverse with the cutters still engaged and without pressing the override button.

But, the cut is good, its width being important as well as the fact that it extends to, or just beyond, the wheel track, allowing successful mowing close to borders, walls etc.

I chose side-discharge because my grass is often damp or slightly long and, with my old MF 10-10, I got sick and tired of continually having to unclog the chutes. The penalty is having to gather together the clippings - often done by higher-speed passes post-cutting - before getting them into a barrow. The mulching function I've yet to try.

Incidentally, the mulching plate was a beggar to remove the first time. A description in the manual about a quarter-turn of each of the two screws would have helped but, even then, the lugs wouldn't clear the retaining clips, which had to be unbolted to free the plate.

Another niggle is the pictograms that show whether the cutting blades are engaged or disengaged - they are almost identical and the differences don't make much sense! A clearer indication of whether the knob should be up or down for disengagement etc. would be helpful. Notwithstanding, I have high hopes this mower will last at least the 20 years that my MF 10-10 lasted. It certainly feels well-built.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by OneTimeRedhead / (Posted on 26/04/2017)
Good value. Does the Job Well. You can start using this as soon as it is delivered although I always read the manual first. The delivery driver helped me lift the mower off the pallet, as the suggested method of breaking the pallet into a ramp would have been difficult - the blocks didn't move at all with a few hammer blows.

The mower performs well, there were only a few bits where the mulch left any visible grass cuttings. It also moves quite quickly and took very little time to mow a large lawn. The turning circle is pretty tight but could be a little better. When turning back on yourself at the end of the lawn, it does leave quite a large area you have to go back and cut. It couldn't manage to get very far up the slopes in my garden but they are quite steep.

The levers are very stiff, my wife really struggled to change the cutting height. Not sure if they will ease up in time. It does have a great feature for attaching a hose to wash the blades. And also a cup holder.

It looks OK, but unfortunately like many ride-on mowers it comes in that horrible machinery red. I wish they did a black version.

Overall I think it's pretty good and I don't think there is much better available in this price range.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Review by Alan T / (Posted on 22/04/2017)

1-10 of 30

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Mountfield 1538M SD Lawn Tractor (Special Offer)

  •   1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    Features
    Build Quality
    Ease of Use
    Assembly
    Performance

* Required Fields

Free Delivery to the UK Mainland

Recently Viewed
Compare Products

Recently Viewed Products