• Mountfield SP180 Self-Propelled Petrol Lawn Mower (Exclusive Special Offer)

Mountfield SP180 Self-Propelled Petrol Lawn Mower (Exclusive Special Offer)

Availability: In stock

Mountfield SP180 Self-Propelled Petrol Lawn Mower (Exclusive Special Offer)

Features
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Assembly
Performance
89 Review(s)

R.R.P: £349.00  

MowDirect Price Only

£249.00
  • Free Delivery Next Working Day
  • Product Arrives Boxed
  • 2 Year Manufacturer's Warranty
FREE SHIPPING
Free Shipping

Delivery to any address on the UK mainland is FREE - whatever the size of your order.

Our full shipping policy is here

Finance available on all products Over £300

Customer Reviews 10 item(s)

1-10 of 89

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 9
Badly Designed
Review by Chris / (Posted on 20/04/2017)
Badly Designed
Review by Chris / (Posted on 20/04/2017)
This is my first Mountfield and to be honest I am not that impressed, built quality seems good although there are no instructions on putting the grass collector together which is fiddly if you don't have young hands.

It starts well it cuts short grass well but who cuts short grass? My lawn is about 20 by 20 foot my previous mower needed to be emptied twice this one requires five times. If the grass is longish the grass cuttings start to come out on the rear wheels. Also if the grass is damp or again longer than two inches it will clog up and stop. My old mower had no problems but was slightly more powerful.

Now to the ridiculous design flaw. To empty the grass collector you have to lift the flap with one hand and manoeuvre the collector under the handle. The old mower was a one handed operation and easy.

As you have probably guessed I would not buy this model again.

However the positive over my old mower is the weight makes it a lot easier to manoeuvre and one of my considerations when buying. Also it's easier to start but it's new so long term who knows. But the extra work involved in keep emptying it and raking the lawn after cutting means it's going on eBay after the summer and I will purchase another lawn mower.

If your lawn is about 10 foot square and you like to mow it every week this is probably a good buy for you. Any bigger it's not worth the hassle.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Not a Good Replacement
Review by Len Cole / (Posted on 19/09/2016)
Not a Good Replacement
Review by Len Cole / (Posted on 19/09/2016)
I bought this mower to replace a rather aged Mountfield which gave excellent service but was push along. I now need a driven mower and thought this would be a good replacement. As mowers go it does the job but in competition with my old one it loses hands down.

The handle is 44" from the ground and high for a 'short' person like me at 5ft 4ins and I find I am reaching up and, with having to hold 2 controls, finding it very uncomfortable . With my old mower the handle is at 39" above ground and perfect for me and no controls to hold either. I find the speed when power driven much too fast and beyond slow walking pace.

On my old mower you unhook the grass box and lift it up through the handles in one movement, this mower you unhook the grassbox put it on the ground and the lift it from behind the handles in two movements.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Average Machine
Review by Stephen Flay / (Posted on 31/08/2016)
Average Machine
Review by Stephen Flay / (Posted on 31/08/2016)
Easy to assembly, although it already had a few cosmetic scratches. That aside, off I went to discover that's it's merely a mediocre piece of machinery.

As mentioned in other reviews used also found the height lever has a tendency to jump out of position.

That will teach me to look for a low cost mower. So it's probably going to end up with my daughter and I will purchase a better quality machine. If you're looking for a mower my recommendation would be to look at another make

However cannot fault MowDirect with a very swift delivery.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

First Petrol Mower, Good Choice
Review by Denis Myers / (Posted on 15/08/2016)
First Petrol Mower, Good Choice
Review by Denis Myers / (Posted on 15/08/2016)
Purchased the Mountfield SP180 after recommendations from 2 neighbours. I was very pleased with this mower right from delivery. It was easy to set up [30 min including filling with petrol and oil] and I was ready to cut my lawns.

The self-propelling function makes the mower ride over the grass effortlessly. On the advice of my neighbour I pull the clutch in about 2 foot from the lawn edge and just push it before turning to go back [this stops you going into the border too far if your late stopping the self-propelling clutch]

Also three cheers to MowDirect for their service, communication and choice of efficient courier.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Mountfield SP180
Review by Tony Wills / (Posted on 04/08/2016)
Mountfield SP180
Review by Tony Wills / (Posted on 04/08/2016)
Excellent delivery easy to assemble. Put in oil and petrol then started first time. So very pleased

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Dream to Use
Review by Mal Daley / (Posted on 19/07/2016)
Dream to Use
Review by Mal Daley / (Posted on 19/07/2016)
Easily assembled, only had to attach handle and collection basket. Used a Mountfield belonging to my father-in-law, and which he'd had for years, prior to this purchase - and I have to say this is a million times better!

The self-propelled model is so much easier to use on the inclines, the collection is excellent, and the mesh material basket is a lot easier to empty than the moulded plastic one on the older model. Early days, but very happy so far.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Good Value Product in the Mountfield Range and Easy to Use
Review by John / (Posted on 06/07/2016)
Good Value Product in the Mountfield Range and Easy to Use
Review by John / (Posted on 06/07/2016)
The mower arrived quickly and was easy to assemble - just the handles and the grass box. Good that it was be supplied with engine oil.

Having the starter rope on the handle makes starting easy and every time I have used it it has started after a couple of pulls. It seems that there are many types of Briggs engines. My last Mountfield, which lasted 25 years, had a choke and variable speed. This one has no choke, just a primer and single speed, but all works very well.

The speed is just right and the engine cut out on the handle is a very good safety feature. I am very pleased with it and mowing is quite effortless .

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Some Limitations
Review by ted / (Posted on 10/06/2016)
Some Limitations
Review by ted / (Posted on 10/06/2016)
First of all, MowDirect responded well to my queries and service and delivery were good. Yet I see that the picture of the mower has not changed that much. The control switch still seems to be there on left arm.

Instructions/booklets were confusing to say the least. Re the grass-box, the much vaunted 'mesh/air vents to allow better collection' merely block up, so don't vent.

Height Adjustment. This jumps out, it would have been much better to have had a recessed/latched or winding height adjuster. There is some poor design at the front edge of body: the void is a perfect grass cuttings trap and a pain to clear/clean.

The machine cuts well, but I miss the facility to park in neutral with engine running ( while emptying basket) . The fixed speed makes turning a bit of a performance in tight spots, so all in all, not convinced I have bought the right machine. I've had 2 motor Mountfields over the years, and still have an electric one, and this model is not as good.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Fantastic Value
Review by Damon / (Posted on 01/06/2016)
Fantastic Value
Review by Damon / (Posted on 01/06/2016)
After much research I settled on the SP180 as a compromise between cost, value, features and engine manufacturer.

From taking it out of the box and assembling it (which was essentially fitting the handle and adding oil) to pulling the start cord took about 30 minutes. Started first time.

Considering our 0.5 acre lawn hadn't been cut for nearly four weeks and was a good 3 to 4 inches in length it performed exceptionally well, taking me around 90 minutes to mow - largely due to the number of trips needed to empty the grass collector! Adjusting the height of the blade on the go was a breeze. In the end the final finish was brilliant. Second use coming up this weekend so hoping for a similar positive experience with the blade on a lower setting.

However, compared to the self-propelled mower I was using it does seem to be more self-propelled. The speed at which it moved did catch me out, and on a number of occasions I felt I was having to hold the mower back. Keeping the self-propelled part going while turning sharply did result in a few wheel-spin marks in the lawn but after a while I got used to letting the throttle out when turning sharply.

Excellent service from MowDirect and I would certainly recommend both them and the SP180. A great balance between performance, value for money and ease of use.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

Satisfactory if Lawn not too Uneven
Review by Richard Farhall / (Posted on 16/05/2016)
Satisfactory if Lawn not too Uneven
Review by Richard Farhall / (Posted on 16/05/2016)
Aside for the attractive price I bought this on the strength that it would cope with my 'undulating' lawn. To its credit it started first time. However, after a run of just 15' the front wheels hit a slightly raised stepping stone and the height adjustment lever jolted from the highest position to the lowest! This resulted in the blade trying to mow the slab - not good.

I resolved to be more careful for the rest of the cut but another jolt on an uneven section of lawn saw the lever move from the highest position to the next notch below.

The English assembly instructions are clear enough if you take your time to work through them (once you have found them in amongst the other languages). The grass collection box assembly tried my patience and required a fair bit of strength to snap it together so that it was secure.

Other than these considerations the mower is a good buy.

Features

Build Quality

Ease of Use

Assembly

Performance

1-10 of 89

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 9

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Mountfield SP180 Self-Propelled Petrol Lawn Mower (Exclusive Special Offer)

  •   1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    Features
    Build Quality
    Ease of Use
    Assembly
    Performance

Submit Review

* Required Fields

Free Delivery to the UK Mainland

Recently Viewed
Compare Products

Recently Viewed Products